CompTIA Security+

EXAM CODES SY0-401 OR SY0-501: CompTIA Security+

A globally trusted certification is CompTIA Security+. It is to validate foundational, vendor-neutral IT security knowledge and skills. As a benchmark for best practices in IT security, this certification covers the essential principles for network security and risk management – making it an important stepping stone to an IT security career.


IT security is paramount to organizations as cloud computing and mobile devices have changed the way we do business. Also, with the massive amounts of data transmitted and stored on networks throughout the world, it’s essential to have effective security practices in place. That’s where CompTIA Security+ comes in. Overall, get the Security+ certification to show that you have the skills to secure a network and deter hackers and you’re ready for the job.

Security+ is government approved

CompTIA Security+ meets the ISO 17024 standard. Additionally, Department of Defense to fulfil Directive 8570.01-M requirements. Once you obtain your Security+ you automatically have the CE designation required in the DoD Directive 8570.01 manual and going forward must comply with the CE program requirement of completing 50 CEUs in three years to maintain the credential. Furthermore, Security+ is also compliant with government regulations under Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA).

Security+ is globally recognized

A globally recognised credential is CompTIA Security+. Also, these certified professionals are working in over 147 countries throughout the world.

Security+ provides substantial earnings potential 

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Security Specialists, Administrators and also Managers earn over $86,000 per year.

Exam Description

The CompTIA Security+ exam will certify the successful candidate has the knowledge and skills required to install and configure systems to secure applications, networks, and devices; perform threat analysis and respond with appropriate mitigation techniques; participate in risk mitigation activities; and operate with an awareness of applicable policies, laws, and regulations. Finally, the successful candidate will perform these tasks to support the principles of confidentiality, integrity, and availability.